“Jack Of All Trades” Should Always Be Followed By “Master Of None”

I’m sure there’s one in every family… An Uncle of the sort that can do just a bit of everything: hang drywall, delete a computer virus, change out an electrical panel, or even jump a dirt-bike over his trailer. But, I’m sure he probably isn’t a contractor, a computer technician, an electrical engineer, or a stunt double for Tom Cruz. He might actually be a door-greeter at the Wal-Mart. Why is it that he never succeeded to top of an industry? Specialization.

When my friend Zachary got his real estate license he quickly hung it with a national firm. On his first day he was filling out his profile page on the company’s website, where he proceeded to checkbox every option available to add to his online profile: First-Time Home Buyers, Luxury, Short Sales, Foreclosures, Mobile Homes, Land, Rentals, New Construction…The list goes on and on. His thought was that if he checked everything he would be found for something, and then make a sale. What he didn’t do was find one field of real estate that he had a passion for and stick with it. I, personally, have always loved luxury real estate. When I got my real estate license that was all I focused on, and it took me a while to get where I was going. However, I had a vision of what I wanted to accomplish and stuck to reaching my goal.

Don’t get me wrong; I can do a bunch of “other stuff”. But when it comes to what I “do”, I only “do” one thing. The benefit is that clients notice when specializations are spread thin, and they will run for the hills. So in the words of Snoop Dogg, “Do wha cha do, cuz dat’s wha cha do.”

Leave a Reply

